About the Szent-Györgyi Prize

The Szent-Györgyi Prize for Progress in Cancer Research is named in memory of Dr. Albert Szent-Györgyi, NFCR’s co-founder and 1937 Nobel Laureate for his study of vitamin C and cell respiration. The prize is a symbol of NFCR’s enduring commitment to uphold Dr. Szent-Györgyi’s vision of curing cancer through innovation and collaboration.

The annual Prize honors scientists whose seminal discovery or pioneering body of work has contributed to cancer prevention, diagnosis, or treatment and has had a lasting impact on understanding cancer, holding the promise of improving or saving lives of cancer patients.

The Szent-Györgyi Prize serves to stimulate continued investment in the pioneering research that will produce scientific breakthroughs and promote public awareness of the importance of basic cancer research and the need to accelerate the translation of these research discoveries into new cancer treatments. In addition to winning the coveted award itself, prize recipients are given a $30,000 honorarium and attend a gala in their honor.

Please check back in late 2024 to submit a nomination for the 2025 cycle.

Our 2023 Winner, Isaac P. Witz, Ph.D. was honored on October 21, 2023 at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. Read more about the Award Ceremony >>>


Congratulations to our 2024 Szent-Györgyi Prize for Progress in Cancer Research, Dennis J. Slamon, M.D., Ph. D. from UCLA Health!

Learn More >>>

Slamon 2024

Current Winner

Dr. Slamon’s groundbreaking research has helped shape the field of precision medicine for breast cancer patients.

View Press Release

About the Ceremony

Our next ceremony will take place on October 18, 2024 in Washington, DC.

Learn More

Prize Ceremony Rakesh K. Jain Awarded

Past Winners

View all previous awardees of the Szent-Gyorgyi Prize for Progress in Cancer Research.

Explore More