Executive Team

S Ba

Sujuan Ba, Ph.D.
President and Chief Executive Officer

K LEung

Kwok Leung, Ph.D.
Chief Financial Officer and Secretary


Brian Wachtel
Executive Director


Jonathan Larsen
Chief Marketing Officer & Media Contact

Board of Directors

Alfred Slanetz

Alfred Slanetz, Ph.D. | Chairman of the Board
President & CEO
Geneius Biotechnology, Inc.

Judy Barnhard NFCR Chairman

Judith P. Barnhard
Senior Vice President/Director
Councilor, Buchanan & Mitchell, PC

Dr. Karen Burke

Karen Burke, M.D.
Clinical Professor and Research Scientist
Mt. Sinai Medical Center
New York

200x250 New Board 2022 (1)

Lance Kawaguchi
Cure Brain Cancer Foundation


Brian R. Leyland-Jones, MBBS, Ph.D.
Chief Medical Officer,
AIM-HI Accelerator Fund

Scientific Advisors


Webster K. Cavenee
Director of Strategic Alliances in Central Nervous System Cancers, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, San Diego
Distinguished Professor at the University of California, San Diego

Frederick Alt NFCR

Frederick W. Alt
Director, Program in Cellular and Molecular Medicine, Boston Children’s Hospital,
Charles A. Janeway Professor of Pediatrics at Boston Children’s Hospital,
Professor of Genetics, Harvard Medical School


Ruggero De Maria
President, Alliance Against Cancer;
Director, Institute of Pathology, Catholic University;
Rome, Italy

Susan Band Horwitz, Ph.D.

Susan Band Horwitz
Distinguished Professor Emerita, Department of Molecular Pharmacology & Rose C. Falkenstein Chair in Cancer Research, Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Dr. Scott Lippman

Scott Lippman, M.D.
Director, Moores Cancer Center, UC San Diego Health


Kanaga Sabapathy
Head, Division of Cellular and Molecular Research
National Cancer Center Singapore

Thea Tlsty, Ph.D.

Thea Tlsty
Professor of Pathology & Director of the Center for Translational Research in the Molecular Genetics of Cancer, University of California San Francisco
Director for the Program in Cell Cycling and Signaling, UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center


Peter Vogt
Executive Vice President, Chief Science Officer, and Professor
The Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla, California

NFCR Staff

  • Hartmann (2)

    Hali Hartmann, Ph.D.

  • Zeting

    Zeting Wang

  • J Sui

    Jane Sui

  • Felts

    Julia Felts

  • Yin

    Yue (Elaine) Yin

  • Webber

    David Webber

  • J Xie

    Joanne Xie

  • W Lee

    Walter Lee

  • Bayly

    Georgia Rose Bayly

  • R. Gao

    Ruixue Gao

Join Our Team

The National Foundation for Cancer Research seeks unpaid interns and candidates for full-time positions.

If you are a highly-motivated and detail-oriented individual interested in joining an organization that believes in Research for a Cure, please email your resume and cover letter to employment@nfcr.org.